Likho Awards for Excellence in Media

The Likho Awards for Excellence in Media, is an initiative of The Humsafar Trust and Bombay Dost in association with MS DIVA,and was started in 2016 to recognise exemplary works by journalists and media persons in India that have a fair and inclusive representation of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer community.

The inaugural edition of the awards was held on December 10, 2016, at the Mumbai Press Club. India’s favourite news anchor Arnab Goswami gave away the awards in seven categories. The awards included a plaque and a cash prize of Rs 5,000 each. The entries were judged by an eminent jury comprising activist Ashok Row Kavi, publisher Shobhna S. Kumar, transgender activist Akkai Padmashali and filmmaker Pradipta Ray.

2016 Award Winners: Angry Indian Goddesses directed by Pan Nalin won the Best Film of 2015. Delhi-based journalists Sangeeth Sebastian and Kumar Vikram, won in the Print category for their investigative story in Mail Today on doctors who offer electric shocks and conversion therapy to “cure” gay men. The award in the books category was won by Sandip Roy for his multi-generational novel Don’t Let Him Know. The awards in the Digital category went to Urmi Chanda-Vaz for her story on gay literature in Scroll. The Ad of the Year 2015 went to Ogilvy and Mather for their ad for Myntra that featured a lesbian couple, while in the TV category, the award went to MTV India for an episode of the television series ‘The Big F – I kissed a girl’ that featured the first lesbian kiss on Indian national television. The prize in the LGBTQ Media category was won by Nicola Desouza for her story on a trans-man in an earthquake relief camp in Nepal that was published in Gaylaxy.

2017 Awards: We are inviting submissions of works published/ produced/ released between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016. Submissions are invited in the following seven categories – Print, Television, Digital, Film, Advertising, Book and LGBTQ Media. The submissions will be judged by an eminent jury and the awards will be given in a ceremony in Mumbai in November 2017. The awards carry a plaque and a cash prize of Rs 5,000 each.

To Submit your entry, Click here. (should be linked to